Wednesday, March 6, 2024

10th Lexi Music Awards Wrap-up!



I will edit this to include links to photos & videos of the event, so check back periodically.

What an amazing show AND amazing after-party!

The Team 

My undying gratitude to Bill Meck and Dave Medley of WLEX TV-18, the entire staff & crew of the Lyric Theatre, Linda & Roy at Highbridge Springs, Sheila at Ale-8-One, Ginny at Botany Bay, Molly & Richard & the entire staff at Goodwood, and Teri, Michael, & Neil at Three Chord Bourbon!

In addition, a monster thanx & huge hugs to Edd MacKey & The Lexington Fashion Collaborative (& Keegan for stepping up to the plate under pressure), my partner-in-crime Angelee Feltner for managing performance flow, Max Corona for organizing our presenters, Teresa for being ready for anything, Jay Hamon for video, Damien McLean for photography & graphics...and to Rachel & Eric at Lexenomincs!

And as always, to everyone who voted, organized others to vote, wrote in suggestions, helped track down contact information, & more! 


Our house band Mojo Tones kicked 15 minutes of pre-show music to set the mood and then the lights dropped for the beginning of the event. As in our very first year, the incredible Miles Osland opened the show with a blistering version of the National Anthem!

Bob Brynt's Hair Band was next up playing a composition siply not of this earth, followed by a return of Phoebe White performing "Yodeling Cowgirl"! We were then treated to a beautiful guitar/vocal performance by the amazing Serena Hutchens, followed immediately by Tripp Bratton's M'Power Rythm All-Stars! And the Mojo Tones had everyone dancing on the way out at night's end!

Award Recipients 

Without further delay, here - ladies & gentlemen - are your 9th Lexi Music Awards award recipients!

10th Lexi Music Awards
March, 3, 2024

Industry Awards

Venue of the Year
Manchester Music Hall

Music Store of the Year
Doowop Shop - Lexington

Music Company of the Year 
Indie Artist Booking & Management
Overtones/Listen Locally

Recording Studio/Engineer/Producer of the Year
Jason Groves - Sneak Attack

Live Sound Tech of the Year
Wallace "Gator" Harrison

Radio DJ of the Year
"Dead Air" Dennis Dillon WBVX

Gear Repair of the Year
Willcutt Guitars

Jay Flippin Music Educator Award
Paulie Felice

Performance Awards

Female Vocal of the Year
Taylor Hughes

Male Vocal of the Year
Jeremy Zeller

Bass Player of the Year
Dalton Rose

Brass/Wind Player of the Year
Matthew Polashek

Drums/Percussion Player of the Year
Tripp Bratton

Keyboard Player of the Year
Lee Carroll

Strings Player of the Year
Lucy Becker

Ben Lacy Guitar Excellence Award
Tanner Blevins

Style Awards

Americana/Folk Act of the Year
Jeremy Zeller

Bluegrass Act of the Year
Mama Said String Band

TeeDee Young Blues Excellence Award
Treyvon King

Classical Performer of the Year
UK Symphony Orchestra

Country Act of the Year
Blacktop Rodeo

Funk/R&B/Reggae Act of the Year
Boogie G & the Titanics

Hip-Hop/Rap Act of the Year 
Kevin Kross
Tony Wavy

Jazz/Latin/Big Band/World
Big Sugg &The Jazz Funkers

Metal Act of the Year
Taylor Road

Pop Act of the Year
Rags & Riches

Punk Act of the Year

Rock Act of the Year
Bedford Band

Singer-songwriter of the Year
Vanessa Davis

Variety/Cover Act of the Year
Vinyl Richie

Specials Awards

Song of the Year
"Jesus & Jail" - Taylor Hughes

Album of the Year
"The Triplets" - Vanessa Davis

Critics' Choice Award
Jeremy Zeller

Community Service Award
Devine Carama

Lifetime Achievement Award 
Tripp Bratton
Devine Carama
Lee Carroll
JK "JK 47" Wyche

No comments:

Post a Comment